Tickets for this event are currently unavailable


Divergence Jazz Orchestra featuring music by Rafael Karlen (Brisbane)

Led by composer Jenna Cave and trombonist Paul Weber, Divergence Jazz Orchestra is made up of 18 of Sydney’s most accomplished young jazz musicians. They perform, promote and record new music by Jenna Cave and other Australian composers. Their 2013 debut album The Opening Statement has been highly praised, bringing the orchestra and the compositions of Cave national recognition. Featured regularly on ABC Jazz, it was listed by two ABC presenters as a top Australian jazz release of 2013, and was reviewed with four stars by John McBeath in The Australian.

At this upcoming performance on September 17th, Divergence Jazz Orchestra will be presenting music by award-winning composer and saxophonist Rafael Karlen (Brisbane), alongside some new works by band members. Rafael will be joining Divergence off the back of his recent album launch and commissioned composition premiere at the 2014 Brisbane International Jazz Festival.

“Divergence Jazz Orchestra is one of Australia’s keepers of the big band flame…An astonishing array of Australia’s best and brightest” - John Hardaker,

“A highly listenable album…Cave has established herself as a top-level composer, arranger and conductor in Australian contemporary jazz.” – John McBeath, The Australian

“Superb playing and compositions…A beautiful recording” - Ivan Lloyd, ABC Jazz

“The Opening Statement is, all up, one hell of an opening statement from a group that – it is apparent – has a hell of lot more to say” – John Hardaker,


TROMBONES – Paul Weber (Co-Musical Director, lead), Brendan Champion, Tim Coggins, Luke Davis(bass)

TRUMPETS AND FLUGELHORNS- Matthew Collins (lead), Paul Murchison, Luke Stephens, Paul Meo, Will Gilbert
SAXOPHONES AND WOODWINDS- Justin Buckingham (lead alto, soprano, flute), Joshua Willard (alto, clarinet), Evan Harris (tenor, soprano, flute), Louis Klassen (tenor), Anna Leckie (baritone)
RHYTHM- Luke Liang (guitar), Andrew Scott (piano), David Groves (bass), James McCaffrey (drums), Rafael Karlen (Guest soloist -tenor sax)

Share Via


Foundry616 616 Harris Street Sydney NSW 2007 Australia

Organiser Information rss

Foundry 616

Ask the organiser