General Admission - Unreserved Seating


--Ticket sales closed--


After a nation-wide search for the greatest classical musicians aged 30 and under, the three finalists - violinist Courtenay Cleary, percussionist Thea Rossen and clarinettist Oliver Shermacher - will compete live in concert for the title of 2018 Freedman Classical Fellow, and the career-changing $20,000 cash prize to undertake a proposed creative project.

While the judges deliberate, there will be an extraordinarily special guest performance from former Freedman Fellow, didgeridoo player William Barton. William won the Freedman Classical Fellowship in 2003, and this is an extraordinary opportunity to see him perform.

This free concert is hosted and broadcast by ABC Classic FM. Your host, ABC Classic FM presenter and pianist Tamara Anna Cislowska, is also a former Freedman Fellow.

The Freedman Fellowship Awards are among the most prestigious offered to Australian musicians. They are awarded annually to a classical music instrumentalist and a jazz musician. Distinguished musicians from each Australian state and territory, excepting the NT, are invited to nominate candidates from amongst whom three finalists are selected.

All nominees for the award are already very well established and at the top of their profession. To be nominated is already an honour. The nominees for the Freedman Classical Fellowship in 2018 are Jacob Abela (Vic), Madi Chwasta (Vic), Courtenay Cleary (Qld), Rosie Gallagher (NSW), Callum Henshaw - Classical Guitarist (ACT), Lloyd Van't Hoff - Clarinettist (SA), Andrey Lebedev - Classical Guitarist (SA), Liisa Pallandi (NSW), Alex Raineri Pianist (Qld), Thea Rossen (WA), Oliver Shermacher (NSW) and Ryan Williams (Vic).

The Freedman Classical Fellowship is brought to you by The Music Trust with help from ABC Classic FM and Sydney Improvised Music Association (SIMA), made possible by The Freedman Foundation.

Event Link: Sales Closed