Available Tickets

Tickets for this event are currently unavailable

Event Details

Getting Started with Assessment - Online Brightpath Professional Learning Workshop

This three hour online workshop is aimed at new schools getting started with assessing narrative performances in the Brightpath Ruler.  We conclude with a brief section on implementing Brightpath at your school and where to find Brightpath resources. 

Once registered, the meeting link and zipped folder of required materials will be emailed to you.

You will see from the program below that the 3 hours will be broken in presentation time and time when you will be working on your own or with colleagues.

11:00 - 11:45 AWST
12:30 – 1:15 ACST
1:00 – 1:45 AEST                           
                                

   

Introduction: (45 minutes)

An overview of how to assess a narrative text in Brightpath.

  • ·We will explain how to make an on-balance judgement of a student’ performance that takes into account both the Authorial Choices and the Conventions of writing.
  • ·We will illustrate how to analyse a sample performance and compare it to the calibrated exemplars.

11:45 – 12:45 AWST
1:15 – 2:15 ACST
1:45 – 2:45 AEST


Scoring the work: (60 minutes)

Participants go offline for one hour and have a go at assessing three scripts against the ruler.


You will need copies of:

  • 1.Guide to Making your Judgments (Narrative)
  • 2.Gide to analysing Student Work
  • 3.Copies of the three practice scripts
12:45 – 1:15 AWST
2:15 – 2:45 ACST
2:45 – 3:15 AEST


How we assessed the work: (30 minutes)

Participants log back into the meeting for a post assessment analysis and discussion. You will have the opportunity to ask any questions.

*Detailed commentaries of how we assessed the scripts will be emailed to you after the workshop.

1:15 – 1:30 AWST
2:45 – 3:00 ACST
3:15 – 3:30 AEST

Leading the implementation for Brightpath 2020 at your school: (15 minutes)

We will provide an overview of how to lead the implementation of Brightpath in your school.

  • ·Planning the schedule of assessments
  • ·What makes a good task?
  • ·Administering the task
  • ·What does good assessment look like?
  • ·Moderation
  • ·Utilising the teaching points to cater for individual student needs and lesson planning.

1:30 – 1:45 AWST
3:00 – 3:15 ACST
3:30 – 3:45 AEST

Handy hints – The software & Knowledge Base (15 minutes) Finding Brightpath resources.
1:45 – 2:00 AWST
3:15 – 3:30 ACST
3:45 – 4:00 AEST                                                                
Question Time
https://www.stickytickets.com.au/n5squ
Zoom Online Meetings

Australia

Organiser Information

Susan Edelstein
Pairwise Pty Ltd
0451467294

Ask the organiser
Refund Policy

Refunds up to 3 days before the event